Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

All you non-breakfast eaters out there, get a load of this tasty recipe! My boyfriend eats Quaker Weight Control Maple and Brown Sugar Oatmeal every single morning. I decided to try to change-up his super consistent breakfast and it actually worked! That means it is delicious, so I know you’ll like it too. Steel-cut oats can be an acquired taste, but they are above and beyond filled with great healthy ingredients so give them a try. I adapted my recipe from the “Fancy Schmany Oatmeal” recipe in Hungry Girl’s Cookbook (check it out, tons of copies on Ebay). I make a batch ahead of time- it doesn’t take too much TLC so it’s a relatively stress-free Sunday evening activity. Warm it up in the microwave in the morning and dig-in! You could even put it in a to-go mug and eat it while driving to work; invest in some plastic silverware and save on lost spoons. Hope you enjoy it!

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Steel- Cut Oats (Try the Quaker Brand)
  • 4 cups Almond Milk (I get the Unsweetened 40 cal kind)
  • 1/2 can Pure Pumpkin (make sure not to get the pumpkin pie mix, not the same thing)
  • 1 tbsp Sugar-Free Syrup
  • No Calorie sweetener, to taste(I use “Ideal” but there are tons of kinds)
  • Cinnamon, to taste (I used about 1.5 tblsp to give it a kick)
  • Pumpkin Pie Spice, to taste (I use about 1 tbsp)
  • Chopped pecans as a garnish

Directions

Place milk in a medium-sized sauce pan and heat over high heat. Add cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Bring milk mixture to a boil. Add steel-cut oats and sweetener, and turn down to low heat, stirring occasionally. After about 20 minutes, add pumpkin and syrup. Keep on low heat for another 15-20mins, or until the oats are very tender. Place one serving (about 4 heaping tsp worth) in a bowl and top with a small handful of pecans. Enjoy!

Recipe makes 4-6 servings

